Graham’s – Officer of the Day Top Tips

Top tips


The club has an extensive sailing programme including racing on Sundays from March to December and evening racing on Wednesdays from April until early September.

The club’s facilities and water are available to any member at any time but general sailing etc. may be curtailed on Open Meeting days during racing.

Series Racing


SPRING SERIES 21 Races – 10 discards. First start 1200 hours

SUMMER SERIES 18 Races – 8 discards. First start 1200 hours

AUTUMN SERIES 18 Races – 8 discards. First start 1200 hours

ICEBERG SERIES 7 Races – 3 discards. First start 1100 hours

FROSTBITE SERIES 14 Races – 6 discards. First start as soon as possible after Iceberg/lunch but no earlier than 1300 hours


MIDWEEK SERIES 21 races – 10 discards. Start at 1900

NIGHTOWL SERIES 14 races – 6 discards. Start not before 1945

Trophy Days

Events are held in the year when all classes can compete against each other under handicap. These dates are published in the Sailing Programme Calendar.

DEVONSHIRE TROPHY comprises one long distance race at least 2.5 hours long for first boat.
DOC’s DRACHM TROPY event consists of two pursuit races and one general handicap race.
½ CWT and HARDING TROPHIES consist of three races each day.
CHRISTMAS PLATE consists of three races and may be sailed in conjunction with the Punchbowl Trophy.
All the results from these five events accumulate for the ‘Paul Taylor’ Trophy – 13 races, 2 discards.

The start time of the first race in each individual event will be 1200 hours except for the Christmas Plate which will be 11am. For the purposes of calculating the results only home boats will be eligible.

CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP for which the sailing committee will devise a programme. Start time 1100 hours.
COMMODORE’S CHALLENGE is a team event for all classes of boats and will be held as scheduled, start time 1200 hours. Details to be decided.
TANNER TROPHY is for those helms that have not previously won a One-Day event Trophy (except the Tanner). Start Time 1200 hours.
THE FLYING FIFTEEN ROSEBOWL, THE LASER LIGHT and THE ALLCOMER’S BOWL are for Flying Fifteens, Lasers and all other craft.